About Greater Manchester CAMRA

CAMRA is considered one of the most successful consumer organisations across Europe. Founded by four real ale enthusiasts back in 1971, today we represent nearly 200,000 members across the UK.

Our vision is to have quality real ale, cider and perry and thriving pubs in every community.

CAMRA has over 200 local branches which are divided into 16 geographical regions.

Greater Manchester Region comprises the nine branches which largely fall withing the Greater Manchester administrative region:

  • Bolton
  • Central Manchester
  • High Peak, Tameside and North East Cheshire
  • Rochdale, Oldham & Bury
  • Salford and District
  • South East Lancashire
  • Stockport and South Manchester
  • Trafford and Hulme
  • Wigan

These nine branches have around 6000 members between them. The region is led by our Regional Director and team of regional officers who support the branches and provide the link between branches and the national leadership. For more information on individual branches, see our branches page.

CAMRA’s Greater Manchester Branches join together to organise the successful Manchester Beer and Cider Festival at Manchester Central.

Greater Manchester Region is governed according to its constitution which can be viewed here.