Club Of The Year 2019

Greater Manchester CAMRA is pleased to announce the result of the 2019 Regional Club Of The Year Competition.

The Greater Manchester Club Of The Year 2019 is the Flixton Conservative Club on Flixton Road between Urmston and Flixton in Trafford.

Although this is the fifth consecutive year that the club has won the Greater Manchester title, it is the first under new Stewards Pat and Andrea Doherty who took over in March and have maintained the high standards set by their predecessors Nigel and Sharon Porter.

Flixton Conservative Club Team
Pat and Andrea (centre) flanked by Flixton Conservative Club cellar team Chaz and Tom receiving their Trafford & Hulme Branch Club Of The Year award

Nigel and Sharon left the club in November 2018 after six years at the helm but left behind a team passionate about serving high quality cask ale. Cellar team Tom, Chas and Hayley kept the beer flowing while the club recruited new stewards.

Pat and Andrea have reinstated the club’s successful “Brewery Nights” (monthly tap takeover and meet the brewer nights which pack out the club’s function room) as well as introducing a range of new events including a fortnightly Open Mic night, curry nights and expanding the live music offering.

Runner up in the Greater Manchester competition was Dobcross Band Social Club in Dobcross, Saddleworth.

Six of the nine branches of CAMRA in Greater Manchester selected a Club Of The Year each of which were visited by a team of judges from across the region.

The finalists were:

  • Ukrainian Club (Bolton Branch)
  • Dobcross Band Club (Rochdale, Oldham and Bury Branch)
  • Boothstown Royal British Legion (Salford & District Branch)
  • Moor Club (Stockport and South Manchester Branch)
  • Flixton Conservative Club (Trafford & Hulme Branch)
  • Standish Unity Club (Wigan Branch)

Flixton Conservative Club will now go forward into the 2020 National Club of The Year competition, seeking to reclaim the National Club Of The Year title they won in 2018.